Monday, September 27, 2010

Resident Evil: Afterlife Movie Review 3.5/10!

I am a gamer, therefore I generally like video game movies, just purely for the nostalgia if for nothing else. I I will admit that I haven't really played any of the current gen RE games, but it seems like a stretch that this series really counts as video game movies. Despite the lack of sticking with the source material, I enjoyed the previous movies just for the zombie killing and Umbrella Corp. evilness. It does not extend to this film.


One thing you have to get right in a film like this is the fight choreography. The opening fight choreography is ABSOLUTELY terrible. Like Ben Affleck/ Jennifer Garner bad from the Daredevil movie. It does get better toward the end but overall its pretty terrible. Seeing as how people are only going to see this because of hot chick zombie killing action, you just have to get that right. The plot is generally pretty secondary in a movie like this, but there are a couple of head scratchers here. First , *spoilers* they depower Alice because I am guessing they wanted to get back to this being survival horror, which apparently they figured they couldn't do with her being kind of all powerful crazy. I don't really have a problem with them doing that, it just felt so out of place and contrived. Secondly, they tried to give us an antagonist with a face, rather than just the mindless zombies that you generally see. That’s also a fine idea, except that he was just as faceless and flavorless as the zombies. He had no real development, and didn't feel like he belonged in the plot at all. They tried to combine two story arcs when there really should have just been the one. Honestly, I am really stretching to analyze this movie, the truth is, its just not very good, even for what it is

No comments:

Post a Comment